Mission Accomplished

Tales from the Cult is a website dedicated to preserving important artifacts from a church in Eau Claire where horrific spiritual abuse took place over several years. If you haven’t read the About This Site page, please do so before reading any article here.


A few weeks ago when the Leader Telegram ran an article (and a video!) profiling the events at Valleybrook, this website has exploded in popularity. That has allowed a major breakthrough to happen:

  • Before this website and these articles from the Leader Telegram, there was no paper trail for Doug Lebsack. Now if you search for Doug Lebsack, depending on where you are in the world, this site is now the top result.

I’m extremely proud of that, because it means he can’t hide behind anonymity anymore. Jody Hagedorn and myself (although mostly Jody!) have done some research into Doug’s time at a Michigan church before this one. There’s just not much of a paper trail! Now, there is. And I hope it helps prevent these atrocities from happening ever again.

That brings me to an important point: what next? What else goes on this site?

Right now, nothing. I set out to archive some important documents and to bring light to a dark situation. We’ve done that together. It’s in the light. However, there are certainly many more audio recordings from Doug’s tenure at Valleybrook, and potentially more documents to find.

There’s also Grant’s letter that has often been talked about in the Leader Telegram articles. I may have mentioned it on this site. When I see Grant, I will seek permission to post the copy of the letter I have in my possession. But, it’s his, it’s very personal, and I won’t betray the trust he put in the people who he gave it to, with the provision they could share it with other trusted people. That’s a far cry from posting it on the Internet, so I want to hear from him that it’s okay to do so.

I just updated the Leader Telegram post with a second article they ran the week after the original did. So, that has been done.

I still need to upload the Chosen audio. I have it, I keep forgetting to post it when I use the computer that I have it saved on. I’ll update that article too when I have it, and add it to the Media page.

Finally, there is currently a financial investigation occurring at Valleybrook, researching whether misappropriation of funds occurred under the watch of Doug Lebsack and Mary Clark. If a report is released about that, I will post it to this site, and to the Media page.

In closing, this site has always been about factual, non-opinionated information. It has been about people sharing their stories of abuse, if they desire, either by emailing me their story or posting it on the Discussion page. Therefore, I have nothing further to say.

For the foreseeable future, this is Matthew, signing off.


Tales from the Cult is a free effort to bring stories of abuse into the light so they may be prevented from happening again. There is not now, and will never be, a fee to access this site. Thank you for reading, and please remember to share posts you find interesting to increase our web presence.

